Shieldmaiden Berserkers & Warlord

IMG_6056
Warlord

The Bad Squiddo Games shieldmaiden kickstarter in 2018 tempted me into buying several packs of their most excellent lady vikings. Painting progress has been sloooow – with four bow armed levies and four warriors with spears being part of my output for the Analogue Hobbies painting challenge IX. I put some paint on these beserkers during that challenge but never finished them. With Painting Challenge X coming up I thought I’d better get them finished or it will be well into 2020 before they’re ready to cause lamentation.

IMG_6059

The berserkers are clad in various furs – I used the Painting War: Dark Ages book for ideas on the best way to paint them. I love the way the lambskin turned out but I’m not so sure about black bear fur – still needs some work to generate enough contrast and it feels like it goes too grey too soon.

IMG_6061
More bear skin

At some point – but not soon enough for our January SAGA tournament in Portland, OR – these women will be part of an all female viking warband for SAGA. One of my SAGA friends was kind enough to give me some V&V resin hearthguard shieldmaidens and there are still some to paint from the kickstarter – once these are done I’ll need a few more to finish the project – I saw that Gripping Beast have some and I may also look at the Frostgrave soldiers 2.

IMG_6066
Out of focus – got to learn how to use the camera

Bad Squiddo sculpts are a joy to paint. These didn’t have any flash or mold lines. The poses are dynamic. They cost £12 for 4 and Bad Squiddo keep the VAT (and charge shipping) if you buy direct. <rant>I really don’t like it when British companies do this as it effectively charges their US customers 20% more for the same product.  Some British stores don’t charge VAT but do charge shipping (the fairest solution). Some make shipping “free” and keep the VAT they charge. The very best ones don’t charge either and (over a certain amount) make shipping free too (Perry Brothers).</rant>

IMG_6063

Just over a week to go before the Painting Challenge begins. There are minifigs, camels, bugs, heer, gribbly horrors, a troll, picts, sci-fi types for Antares, a post apocalypse family, a 7″ giant and more – all eagerly waiting for pigment.

IMG_6054

 

Leave a comment